Cillinan, with its Jacaranda and Oak tree lined streets, is a favorite destination among tourists, wheather spending time looking at the shops, or enjoying lunch or taking a tour of the diamond mine.
Whether you’re looking to spend some cash in one of the little shops, or enjoy a delicious lunch with friends or take a lazy stroll down the historical street, there is much to see and do in Oak Avenue.
The Cullinan Diamond Mine, probably the most popular attraction in Cullinan, offers visitors an informative glimpse into the operations and history of this historic mine where the world’s biggest diamond was found in 1905.
When visiting the Diamond Mine, one should definitely make time to spend in the surrounding small Victorian town itself as well, exploring it’s rich history and breath-taking charm.
Cullinan is situated in the Highveld region of South Africa. The town has an elevation of 1476 m (4842.52 ft) and is located at -25.6709 [latitude in decimal degrees], 28.5236 [longitude in decimal degrees]. The closest city is Pretoria being 40 km (25 mi) away, while Johannesburg is 100 km (62 mi) away.RAYTON:
Not far from the historical village of Cullinan is the little town of Rayton, another settlement to have evolved from the discovery of diamonds in the area.
With the opening of the Premier Mine in the vicinity, many diamond diggers made their way to this part of the world to prospect for diamonds. It wasn’t long before the company built a spur from the then railway line between Pretoria and Delagoa Bay, to a station called Rayton.
The Premier Diamond Mine, sometimes known as the New Premier, so as not to confuse it with the old Premier of the De Beers group, is the greatest known diamond mine in the world - as large as the four De Beers Consolidated Mines combined. The mine is shaped liked a pear and lies on a level plateau about two hundred feet in elevation, surrounded by hills and kopjes. The crystals mined here are of the finest quality and colour, and the percentage of large crystals of gem material is greater than from any other mine in the country.
Rayton is named after the first manager of the Montrose Diamond Mining Company, Colonel Balliston’s wife - Lady Rachel Ray Williston. Today the town exhibits some fine examples of classic architecture that have survived the ages, and the Post Office is the original magistrate’s office. Although Rayton became little more than a ghost town following the Second World War, today it is a thriving little ‘dorp’ in the true sense of the word.
St Georges Anglican Church – 1904
Cullinan Hospital – 1907
Nedbank Building – 1908
Masonic Lodge – 1909
Cullinan Mystique – 1904
The History room Cullinan
The McHardy house museum
The Zonderwater Italian POW Museum
The Sammy Marks Museum
Bus services to various other schools for instance:
High School Erasmus – BHS
Wilgers High School
John Voster High School